Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 20th, 2011

Sometimes I wake up in the morning and think I won’t have anything to write about on my blog, which is fine.  I don’t plan on writing a new post every day.  Especially when Spring hits.  New baby, weddings to photograph, landscape design season.  No way I can keep it up.  I thought that today would be one of those days.  That is…until my Mamaw decided to say hi to me.

Last August our family was handed the biggest loss we could have experienced.  We lost our spiritual rock.  We lost our Mamaw.  I miss her so much it hurts.  I long to be able to call her when I’m feeling lost and hear her sweet words of encouragement.  Last October, when Andy and I miscarried our first pregnancy, Mamaw called me, and I was at work so I couldn’t answer the phone.  She left me a voicemail filled with spiritual guidance and love.  I ended up saving that voicemail.  God must have had a plan because now I am able to hear her voice…even with her body not here anymore. 

Mamaw knew I was pregnant with Charley.  She didn’t know at the time that I would be carrying a girl, but she knew I was pregnant before she died.  In fact, I took a pregnancy test at the hospital while my sister and I were visiting her in July.  I thought I was pregnant and while shooting a wedding that day I started to spot.  Thinking the worse, I bought a test and couldn’t wait until I got home.  I wanted so bad to tell her right then, but I was afraid of losing the pregnancy.  I ended up announcing it to the family the next week.  Three weeks later…Mamaw was gone.

Mamaw had these little ‘quirks’ that seem to run rampant in our family.  Anyone who knew her, knew that she was always within 3 ft (most likely closer) to a box of kleenex, hand sanitizer, and cough drops.  At Christmas, the women in my family went through the difficult process of sorting through Mamaw’s closet.  It was eerie flipping through shirts, pants, and jackets…knowing they would never be worn again by their original owner.  Nobody wanted to take anything at first.  After some coaxing from my aunt, I chose a down vest, a couple of dressy blazers, and a beautiful long down coat. 

 Hard to imagine finding clothing that you would share with your 78 year old grandmother, but Mamaw had some style. 

This morning I decided to help Andy and take the garbage out to the street (something I have never done at this house).  I went to grab my usual coat, then realized it was upstairs (it NEVER is).  I then went to the coat closet and grabbed Mamaw’s jacket.  When I put my hands in the pockets this is what I found…

 

…7 cough drops and 4 tissues. 

Thanks, Mamaw.  I needed that today.  🙂

Once I got my ‘hi’ from Mamaw, I was in a great mood and decided to crochet some more.  I mentioned in a previous post about stumbling upon a skirt ‘pattern’ while making a hat for myself…well today was the day to put it to use. 

The back

I have no clue how my yarn ribbon bow will hold up on a 9-12 month old, but at least it looks cute now. 

And for some complete randomness…

This is what my dishwasher looked like when I emptied it this morning. 

Apparently I’ve been craving foods that are served in bowls. 

Happy random Thursday 🙂

Read Full Post »